A Community for Brides Planning their Wedding in Australia

gettingmarried12
Topic Author

Newbie here - church question PLEASE help!!

Mon Dec 06, 2010 8:26 pm

Hi girls,
Just joined, the forum looks like such a great place to plan the big day!! Must admit, I have been stalking for some time now, but recently got engaged so thought I'd join up and say HI!!! Getting married in June 2012 so a little while away but time flies!!

Anyway, just a question re catholic ceremonies. I really want to get married in a catholic church, however I am unsure whether I have to include all the religious trimmings etc!! More specifically with regards to readings; do all readings in a catholic ceremony have to be from the bible or can they be general readings??? Any ideas??

gettingmarried12
Topic Author

Re: Newbie here - church question PLEASE help!!

Mon Dec 06, 2010 9:02 pm

Anyone??

bernie

Mon Dec 06, 2010 9:18 pm

im not sure about catholic but with my anglican church its all about the religion and readings from the bible with catholic it mught be the same coz they re usually stricter

pinklily

Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:06 pm

We are getting married in a Catholic church, and yes you would have to include readings from the Bible, though many have been adapted and written into more modern-day terms. We will be having other readings (poems) at our reception instead. You have 2 options if you get married in the Catholic church - a mass (with communion/host) or a nuptial ceremony (no communion, but still the Prayers of the Faithful and other readings).

bryaneunice
♥ Lady Eunice ♥
♥ Lady Eunice ♥

Tue Dec 07, 2010 12:15 pm