A Community for Brides Planning their Wedding in Australia

miss_summer
I just love to talk
I just love to talk
Topic Author

How Long to Plan A Wedding?

Thu Sep 20, 2012 7:57 pm

Hi Ladies,

I am a complete wedding newbie, first of anyone I know (besides a distant cousin, and her wedding was boring, so not looking to take any tips off her), to get married, so I will admit I have no idea what I am doing! My FH is being a huge help, but I want to do a lot of the planning, I figure I will only get this shot once. But I was just wondering how long you all spent planning your wedding. I don't want to have too little time, but at the same time, I am so busy I don't want to to have to start hardcore planning just yet either.

So how long did you spend planning you're wedding?

Any tips when I should start doing things? Anything that took longer than you thought it would? Anything that wasn't as time consuming as you first thought?

Thanks!!

pinkperfection
I need a title
I need a title

Re: How Long to Plan A Wedding?

Thu Sep 20, 2012 9:01 pm

We were engaged for 27 months but we wanted a long engagement. I would say 12 to 18 months but of course it can be done sooner

Wombatta
I survived and got married

Thu Sep 20, 2012 9:59 pm

Hi miss summer,

We took 5 months to plan our wedding.... So less than the average here but I think it was plenty of time for us to plan everything exactly how we wanted it....Got engaged this January and started planning our august wedding in mid Feb. My hubby and I were very keen to get married and so we prioritized all of the decisions to get it done on time.
We also planned a move overseas and a second reception overseas at the same time, so it was very busy but so worth it!!

So its really up to you and your FH as to how long you want to plan your wedding.... Best of luck with your planning and congratulations!! :D

StephMT
Can't wait to set a date
Can't wait to set a date

Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:01 pm